You may want to know / brush up on the towing laws that apply to everyone in the city if you are a resident of Texas and drive a vehicle. You need to always take the necessary precautions and be careful about where you park your vehicle. Today, to help offer some awareness, we at Citywide Towing Service would like to share the basic towing laws in Texas to the community.
Locations Where Your Vehicle Can and Will Be Towed
For more than 2 days (that’s 48 hours), your car has been left in the same place that’s public property it will be towed. It is completely legal for your car to be towed in these places, though there are also instances in which your car can be towed when it’s in public or private parking lots, parking garages and apartment complexes. It is probably because of one of these reasons listed below, if your car is towed when it is parked in the parking lot of your apartment building.
– Where there’s a visible “Tow Away Zone” sign you parked in a spot
– Parked in a restricted area (like on parking spots reserved for employees)
– Unless if you’re allowed (according to apartment rules) to park there but otherwise if your vehicle is a semitrailer, trailer, or truck-tractor,
– If your car is viewed as a threat to people in the immediate area or has leaks or is leaking fluid that’s hazardous
– In the way of other cars
– Blocking access to the dumpsters
– A walkway that is blocked
It is highly likely that your car will be impounded if you have been arrested by the police, lastly.
Understanding a Public Space that can be Used as a Parking Spot
Check around for signs around attached on poles or posted on walls that state “Unauthorized Vehicles Will Be Towed At Owner Or Operator’s Expense.” If there are signs posted, obviously, parking is not permitted.
General Towing Charges. The highest amount you can be charged (if the vehicle is a car) is $250 in Texas, but tow charges depend on the weight of your vehicle. This is not inclusive of the fees charged by the storage facility, however.
Steps if Your Vehicle is Illegally Towed. You can ask for a tow hearing within 14 days of your car being towed if your car has been towed illegally. For example, if the towing company is unlicensed, or their license has been invalidated or expired. However, it is probable that you may not have to pay for tow fees in this case.
Towing Service, Roadside Assistance & More in Addison, Balch Springs, Carrollton, Cedar Hill, Cockrell Hill, Combine, Coppell, DeSoto, Farmers Branch, Ferris, Garland, Glenn Heights, Grapevine, Highland Park, Hutchins, Lancaster, Lewisville, Ovilla, Richardson, Rowlett, Sachse, Seagoville, Sunnyvale, University Park, Wilmer, Wylie, Duncanville, Grand Prairie, Arlington, Irving, Mesquite & Greater Dallas, Texas
When it comes needing a tow in the Greater Dallas, Texas area, you can trust in the leading experts of Citywide Towing Service and let our professionals assist you. We have the training, experience, and skills to provide quality towing at an affordable price. In addition to towing options, Citywide Towing Service provides an array of roadside assistance services to help you get out of a jam. Call Citywide Towing Service for your towing and roadside assistance services!